Okay, this was one of my early book reviews.  Suffice to say, if I were to re-write it, I would be singing the praises of this author much more than I do in this skimpy review.  Misha Burnett is, in my well-read opinion, a literary genius.  I love this series. Period. If you have not read his work, then you are missing out.

41v8vhzb32l

Description:

Catskinner’s Book is a science fiction/urban fantasy novel set in a surreal world unlike any that you have seen before.

James Ozryck has a monster in his head.

All of his life the entity that he calls Catskinner has made him a fugitive, afraid to get too close to anyone, afraid to stay in one place for too long. Catskinner kills, without compassion and without warning, and is very good at it.

Now James has learned that Catskinner is not the only monster in the world, a world that has suddenly become a far stranger and more dangerous place than he imagined. In order to survive he will have to become something more than a monster, he will have to learn what it means to be human.

Review:

This book took me by surprise. I dare say this is the best book I’ve read in a long time. With a writing style that reminds me of Neil Gaiman, the author spins a tale I couldn’t put down. Rich characters and a complex storyline with unlimited potential makes me want more. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series. Though I’m not sure where to categorize this book, I feel it can satisfy any fan of Science Fiction, fantasy or horror. I strongly recommend this book.

Simply Brilliant 5 of 5 Stars

