61hehbjqcsl

Description:

NO VAMPIRES…

NO WEREWOLVES…

NO ZOMBIES…

BEEN THERE. DONE THAT.

You’ve heard their stories before and you’re screaming for a different breed of horror.

Those monsters have had their moments in the moonlight and now it’s time for us to bury them in their graves. Let’s lock them in their coffins, pierce their hearts with wooden stakes and shoot them between their rotting eyes with silver bullets from an AK-47.

You wanted some new monsters. You got ‘em.

Say “hello” to the ones that are still hidden by the shadows. The ones that peer from behind the gravestones with multi-faceted eyes and crawl from the sewers on slime-covered tentacles. The ones that stain the pages within this tome with the blood of their victims.

NOT YOUR AVERAGE MONSTER:
A BESTIARY OF HORRORS

Review:

I first heard about this book via the Bloodshot Books blog page as a writing competition. I was intrigued by the premise; Monsters, but not the monsters that are popular in current literature. No zombies, sparkley vampires, etc allowed; in other words, Not Your Average Monster. To me, that sounded like a great idea. So I endeavored to create a short story for submission. But alas, life got in the way, and I missed the deadline. And it’s a good thing too. Rejection sucks, and I would have been rejected for sure!
The talent of the authors within the pages of this collection is amazing. I’m not saying I liked every short, because I didn’t, but that is personal preference. The talent was over the top though. Even for the very few I didn’t like as much, I can appreciate the effort that went into the writing. The editor, and founder of Bloodshot Books, had a herculian task to sort through all the entries. And I feel he did a damn good job.
There is a little bit of everything in this book for the diehard horror fan. I enjoyed it and highly recommend it to anyone that likes their horror served up a bit differently than the current norm. I look forward the the second release from this same collection of shorts.
4 of 5 Stars

 

