51aqcrrnuul

Description:

“The High King’s will crushes all before it. …Fare well, Eagle Eye Wormsbane. If you can.”
Eagle Eye’s world is full of magic. Fairies love him, and his only real friend is the resident unicorn, but since he killed the Worm of Shirith, nothing feels the same. When he collides with beautiful, broken Brother Fox a second time, he knows there’s no going back.
“I’m not in love with him. He needs help, that’s all.”
There’s no shortage of monsters in Fox’s life. The Worm was nothing compared to his own father, High King Beagar. When Eagle suggests an escape, Fox seizes the idea–and he wants Eagle with him.
“Damn propriety! I don’t want a servant! I want you to be my friend!”
The High King’s designs send Eagle and Fox across the sea to Rodansk, a land of summer sunshine at midnight and endless winter dark. Between the two, low-caste Eagle presents the bigger threat to Beagar’s power, and he didn’t even know it. Now that his Prince is giving him so much to lose, he won’t go down without a fight.
“Don’t be afraid. …I’m with you.”
Review:

First and foremost, I want to be very clear that I have enjoyed every story I’ve read by author MA Ray, including this one. But, I had some difficulty with The High Kings Will. So we are going to talk about that.

MA Ray is an excellent author. The world of Rothnagar that she has created is truly amazing. She has a gift for writing, and it shows in what she writes. Characters and dialogue are rich. There is just enough description to whet the appetite of the reader without being too descriptive. Just the way I like it. But something about this story set me off wrong.

At first I thought I was one of those guys…the main characters are both male, and they fall in love. But I know me, and really, that doesn’t bother me. I know I’m not one of those guys. So what was wrong with the story? Maybe it was the fact that there is a bit of kissing and more going on, which I have admitted in the past, that I’m a bit of a prude when it comes to that stuff in books. Not a big fan. But still, there isn’t that much of it, though I would not recommend this book for the younger audience.

So what was it? And then it hit me. The High King’s Will, to me, is really a romance novel hidden inside a fantasy novel. There is action, to be sure, but that action is spaced out too far for me. There was simply too much romance in it. Sure, a little romance is fine, but for me, this had too much. I think the level of romance really detracted from the action, as it made one of the characters, Brother Fox, seem very weak. Maybe that leads into future storyline, and I hope it does, but I didn’t like it.

About ¾ of the through the story, the action picked up significantly. And as quickly as that, I was drawn back in. It’s that way with all MA Ray’s stories, she draws you so much, you can’t stop reading…even if it’s way too late and you really need to sleep.

All in all, romance withstanding, I still have to rate this story high. The story is necessary for the overall history/storyline she has created. I enjoyed reading it and cannot wait for her to finish the next in the series. I recommend it to anyone that loves fantasy and romance. Even if you’re a cold hearted bastard like me and can’t stand romance, you will still enjoy this story.
4.25 of 5 Stars (rounds to 4)

