51nm8dsjawl__sx331_bo1204203200_

Today on the blog we have the pleasure of interviewing author SL Perrine.  This excellent author has a new book out titled Immortal Slumber – Book One of the Crawford Witch Chronicles, which is published by The Dragon’s Rockeship Publishing.  Please give a warm blog welcome to SL Perrine.

Welcome.

Thank you Mike, it’s a pleasure to be interviewed for your blog.

Please, tell us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a wife, and mother of four. If I gave you their ages, I’d be giving away my age. Lol. I am currently working as a Medical Assistant in the town I reside in. Troy, NY.

I have always wanted to write, but only learned within the last year or so, that my passion is writing about all things super natural. I have a few different projects I’m working on. One inparticular being The Crawford Witch Chronicles. Immortal Slumber is book one in the series. It’s slated, thus far, to have four books.

Are you a full-time or part-time writer?

I’d like to say full-time. However, writing isn’t the only thing I do. So part-time it is. Although, I probably clock a good 40 hours a week writing.

What influences your writing?

My love of dreaming. I’ve always been a dreamer. Sitting in class, growing up, I’d be staring at the front of the class, but my mind was always eleswhere. I wanted to esacpe life when I was younger. I was never really popular. Didn’t do much outside of school. My release was the imaginary worlds I’d thought up throughout the day and dreamt of at night.

Could you give us a brief overview of your new book Immortal Slumber?

Sure. Immortal Slumber is book one of The Crawford Witch Chronicles. It’s about a girl, Elyse Crawford, who discovers on her 18th birthday that her birth parents were descendants of witches. Her mother and father were together against their families wishes. Kind of like if Romeo and Juliet had lived, ran away and had a baby.

Her father was a dark Wiccan Priest. Her mother a High Priestess. Them being together was forbidden because of they’re status.

Now Elyse is learning a lot of truths. One being that her parents aren’t really dead as she and her adoptive parents had always believed. She has to try to finish her senior year, make amends with her friends(their magical as well), rescue her birth parents from an alternate plain of existence, all while her crazy aunt tries to kill her and steal the families magic.

How did you come up with the idea for this story?  Who do you consider your main audience?

I was very much into a story I read by Cate Tiernan. I loved the idea of her Sweep series, which I read about ten years ago. It just stuck with me. I took a few ideas from her story and melded it with my own ideas.

I consider my main audience for this story as beeing anyone who loves to read fantasy. I don’t think I had an age range in mind. Since I love YA, and the New Adult genre as well.

You are one of the first authors to work with TDR Publishing.  Can you tell us a little bit about the process? 

TDR is amazing! I submitted my MS to them and it took about a month to hear back. I was given an editor, who I love. She gets me, and my writing style, and does her best to make sure my tone isn’t compromised in the editing prosess. Then there was cover and formatting. They really took into consideration my opinions in the entire process, and are just really easy to work with. I highly recommend TDR.

Who developed your cover art?  Was that done through your publisher?

Yes. Rachel Bostwick is an amazing artist. I sent her a mock cover. I dabble in graphic design myself. She took the key concepts I wanted and nailed it.

Have you used social media to promote your writing?  How has that worked for you?  Do you have any tips/tricks for success in this area?

Oh yes. Social media galore. I have a facebook page, twitter, instagram, tumblr, and my own website. I’d say staying vocal works. Readers really love to get to know the person behind the books. Staying up to date with progress and just just keeping vocal on all social media keeps them from forgetting they wanted to read something they heard about.

I like to ask a fun (strange) question in all my interviews.  Now is the time.  If you were an animal, what would you be and why?

A jaguar. I use this animal in this particular series, as well as the prequel series. I just think they are magnificent beasts. Sleek, black and full of power.

Another fun question, so we can get to know you better, if you could have lunch with any fictional character, who would it be with, and where would you go for lunch?

Alyssa Gardner, from Splintered. I love AG Howard’s Alice in Wonderland spin-off. She seems like a very colorful character. I wouldn’t mind dinning in Wonderland. Maybe get some fashion advice too J

Do you have any other bodies of work you can tell us about?

Oh man do I.

I just finished Power Surge, the second book in The Crawdford Witch Chronicle. Blood Rites has been finished and sent to TDR as well. It’s a prequel series about the first High Priestess of the Crawford line. They call her the Immortal Witch. She’s dark and scary. A villan sort of, that you can’t help to love.

Also, in March I have the re-release of The Beast Within, with Burning Willow Press, Inc. A story about a girl who finds out she’s a princess from a different world, and time. Destined to battle beasts, she finds out a curse has made them that way. You actually reviewed this one when I self published it last summer.

I’m also working on The Soul Servitor Series. Death doesn’t mean the end with this story. The local police keep finding bodies of people who are still walking around. It’s got a little bit of everything in it. A paranormal romance, but also could be considered a dark fantasy.

What’s next for your writing career?

Keep going. I have a five year plan and 15 books slatted for publishing between my two publishers. At the end of 5 years I’d like to be doing it full-time, but we shall see.

Any advice for aspiring writers/artists?

Don’t think about it, just do it. Even if you think half way through that it’s the worse thing you’ve ever read. Finish it. At the end of each book, you’ll find you get better.

Also, don’t ever say there is no time to write. Even if it’s 30 minutes a day, get the words down.

Thank you for taking the time to talk with us on the blog. If any readers would like to follow you, what links can the click?

Thank you!

Website: http://www.slperrine.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/slperrine/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sl_perrine/?hl=en

Tumblr: http://slperrine.tumblr.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/PerrineShannon?lang=en

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8326583.S_L_Perrine

