untitled

Review:

I was first introduced to Crobot when I saw them open for Saxon and Motorhead on Lemmy’s last tour.  I was fortunate enough to take my son to the show less than a week before the legends passing.  When we went to the show, we knew nothing of Crobot.  After their set, we were hooked.  Lively and energetic, this Hard Rock band took us by surprise.  Their first album, Something Supernatural became a regular in my car’s CD player (yes, I still listen to CDs).  So when I heard about their sophomore album’s release, I was hopeful, but skeptical.

Released on September 23, 2016, Welcome To Fat City would soon become another standard in my CD player.  Comprising of 11 songs, starting with the title track, the album did not disappoint.  I will say it had a bit of a cleaner sound to it, but the enthusiasm shown in the first album is still there.  Lead vocalist Brandon Yeagley can belt it out.  Guitarist Chris Bishop has plenty of talent to carry this band into the future, and the combine onslaught of brothers Jake and Paul Figueroa on bass and drums set the tone.

I was very happy this this album.  Not easily said for many second albums.  So if you enjoy some good, down and dirty Hard Rock with soul, give this album a listen.

4.5 of 5 Stars (rounds to 5)

