511svwsyt0l

Description:

Stay low. Keep moving.
When women start disappearing from the Angelbrawl Arena, Drake is hired to stop the loss of life and profit. He thinks it is just another job. Business. But it turns into something far more sinister and personal when he is abducted together with the beautiful woman he is trying to protect.
He is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches from the stench of the neon Lowland slums to Nimbus City and the very top of society. On the run, betrayed by friends, used by his enemies and hunted by black-winged assassins, Drake has to confront his past and do the worst thing imaginable to survive: ask for help.

Blood on Borrowed Wings is dark fantasy noir. A fast-paced, ferocious thriller full of twists, fists and feathers. It is set on Nimbus, a future Earth, a world divided, where the powerful and evil dominate the skies…and not only birds have wings.

Review:
Blood on Borrowed Wings was a very interesting book to read. I enjoyed it from start to finish…almost. I say that, because I’m always honest in my reviews. Darren Stapleton, a new author, has developed a very believable world that rose from the ashes of our world. I think.
The story is intriguing and very well-written. The characters are dark. Their personalities come through in the writing, so you feel you truly know them. Dialogue is well done and flows smoothly. Depending on where you are at in the story, the writing switches perspective, but it’s done in a way that doesn’t detract from the story.
The background of what happened in the past to make the world what it is in this story is not as strong as I would have liked. I get the general idea of what happened, but I feel it could have been clearer…maybe that’s just me. Nimbus City, the Edgelands, the Lowlands – I never got a complete understanding of how the world was layed out. Additionally, this book is LONG. The author, though very talented at it, paints an amazing picture of what is happening. There may be too much description, at least there is for my taste. I found myself skimming over all the descriptive details. I know some readers like that, and I can appreciate an author that has the ability to write that way, but it puts me off just a bit.
The ending. Although I personally liked what happened, I felt that it was totally out of character for those involved. You really have to read it to understand, as I don’t give spoilers.
All that being said, this book was very impressive. I enjoyed it, descriptive details and all. I could not put it down. And when I couldn’t find time to read, I was dissappointed, as I wanted to see what happened next. You get a sense of what is going to happen in this book, but it really never gives too much away. So you are anxious to read more, as you need to know what happens next. I strongly recommend this book for the Urban Fantasy / Science Fiction Thriller fans.
4.5 of 5 Stars (which rounds to 5)
