51fxeu5v1kl

Description:

The Eternals, neither human nor vampire, are the last inhabitants of a dying Earth. In the face of a slowly perishing sun, some have accepted their fate while others are ready to fight for their future. It is to this ultimatum that Jean, the last Eternal lord, is born.

Jean’s life changes drastically after his bite takes the life of Princess Chantelle of The New Europa Alliance. Suddenly, he’s a man on the run, falling in love and rediscovering his humanity.

With the sun’s clock ticking, Jean stumbles from manipulated mishap into age-old conspiracies and beyond, as he tries to reconcile his sordid past.
The Eternals is the first novel in the anticipated gothic fantasy series by Richard M. Ankers.

Review:

I found this author via WordPress and thought I’d give the first book of his series a read.  I was impressed.  From the very beginning I felt that Ankers was channeling the late, great Zelazny.  The main character Jean made me feel as if I was reading about Corwin from Amber…that’s a good thing.

The story is about a race of the undead; vampires are all that is left on the earth.  They live off synthesized blood, or do they???  The aristocracy may have a few secrets.  Jean, is thrown into a serious power struggle and really doesn’t like being used as a pawn.  Okay, that is the biggest spoiler you will ever get from me.

It was a very interesting take of the vampire story.  I liked what I read, so much so, that I had a hard time putting this book down.  The writer has skill.  If I am comparing him to Zelazny, then that is saying something.  Zelazny is one of my favorites.  Ankers has a remarkable ablility to weave you a story, with just the right amount of description, without going overboard.  I really enjoyed this story and will read the sequel.

I highly recommend this book.  4.5 of 5 Stars (rounds to 5)

 

