Tiger is a friend of mine.  He is re-issuing his first book under his own publishing house, so I did some digging and found the review I did for it waaaay back.  And a good thing I did. I made a mistake on the rating when I entered it. It has been fixed.

Click the image, it links you to his site.

51fyP-BY5vL

Description:

A rising tide of violence is spreading across the land, and it threatens to cast all of Aurion into war and chaos. Slayvin, a terror straight out of nightmare, is at the heart of the corruption. Using dark, and sorcerous power, the shadow drake bends and twists the will of those who would seek his power for their own.

As the dragon wages his war, the survivors are left with a choice; forge unlikely alliances among the disparate races, or become enslaved. In either case, the future is grim. It is a future of war. Axes are sharpened, bows are strung, and cryptic prophecies are examined for the one thing that is all but lost—hope.

Review:

Having recently finished reading Dragon’s Fire: Beating Back the Darkness, Book One by Tiger Hebert, I am left with a difficult task…writing a review. To start off, I thoroughly enjoyed the story. The book has very well thought out characters, contained a great storyline and was filled with plenty of action, but it still never “grabbed” me. The author is a Christian man, as am I, and proud of it, as am I; this fact is very apparent in the book. To me, reading this book was like someone merged The Lord of the Rings and the Bible together. Again, not a bad thing, but something about it made me feel like I knew what was coming next.
Theros, an orc Chief, and Dominar, an aging dwarf, were my favorite characters. Together, with various others, they fight off the impending doom that is Slayvin; a black dragon. Slayvin reeks of pure evil and menace, as he tries to enforce his will on everyone. If you don’t yield, you will die. Drawing deeply from the story of Jesus Christ, the author incorporates a Savior, Aneri’On, that must face the dragon alone to save everyone. Although I liked the story, as I said, I felt I knew what was coming.
Beginning the story, I had a bit of difficulty following what was going on, as there are a vast number of characters to this story, coming from multiple settlements. The beginning may have been a bit rough for me, but the author does a good job weaving all of them together in the end to create a good story. I finished the book, encouraged. I do want to see what happens next in the series. I came to like and appreciate the characters enough that yes, I would gladly read the next book.
To sum it up, I would recommend this to fans of Christian Fantasy; even straight-up Fantasy fans would like this. I feel the author, Tiger Hebert, is a very talented author and look forward to what else he has to bring to the Fantasy table.

4 of 5 Stars

