images

Obituary, the self-titled 10th album by…you guessed it Obituary was released today, March 17, 2017. Yes, I’ve been an Obituary fan since the early 80’s; even so far back as when they were Xecutioner. Slowly We Rot was their first full-length album, and it changed me.

Now, 28 years later, they have released their 10th studio album.  This self-titled album contains 10 official tunes, and one ‘hidden’ track titled No Hope.  Run time is right around 36 minutes.  I gotta say, it’s brutal.

Obituary is now, and has always been, one of my two favorite Death Metal bands.  They and Death are the forefathers of the genre in my opinion.  This album sounds just like their music did back in the 80’s.  And that’s a good thing.  A lot of bands try to ‘re-create’ themselves. Obituary knows what they do well, knows what the fans like, and they deliver again and again.  I will, however, add, that the guitar work on this album is a step up from Inked In Blood.  And that’s saying something.

Brutal from the start, I give this 4.5 of 5 Horns Up!

\m/  \m/

