51S3pHoeglL

Description:

Kat Cantrell’s family is falling apart and her best friend is a wreck. Kat suspects she’s to blame but nobody will confirm or deny anything – she’s being thoroughly ignored.

So when two detectives turn up at the house and ransack her bedroom, Kat wants to know why. She follows them when they leave and finds herself at the morgue.

Quite literally.

It’s her body on the slab.

Kat is no longer alive, but she’s not quite dead enough. To move on properly she needs to solve the mystery surrounding her death – but how can someone who cannot communicate with the living pass on the terrible secrets she discovers about her family and friends? Secrets that show that her death was not so much a terrible accident, as murder…

Review:

Having read a few of the author’s previous works, I was interested to see the transition from Young Adult Fantasy to Adult Paranormal.  Suffice to say, I was not disappointed.  An accomplished author, JM Turner proved she is a literary force to be reckoned with.  Sunshine Girl was a drastic departure from the Young Adult Fantasy of the Seelie Princess trilogy.  It is the story of a girl that wakes up dead…literally.  And she needs to find a way of communicating with the living to help solve the mystery of her death.

Turner wove an intricate mystery, which is an accomplishment in itself, which kept me guessing right up to the end.  Each time I thought I’d figured out the story, I was proven wrong.  Well-developed characters, an addictive story-line and great dialogue dominate this novel.  I found myself looking for more spare time just to keep reading.

There was one plot issue I found while reading.  I say this, as I am honest in all reviews, so I feel I have to.  Did it detract from the story-line? No.  Did it detract from my enjoyment of the story? No.  So why mention it?  Because it’s there, and authors thrive on honest feedback.  I won’t mention the details, but it’s so minor that you, the new reader, may not see it as I did. No spoilers here.

All in all, Sunshine Girl is a very well-written, enjoyable story.  I highly recommend this story to anyone that likes paranormal mysteries.  There is a bit of adult topics included in the story-line, so not really for the younger reader.  I liked it a lot.

4.5 of 5 Stars (rounds to 5)

