opeth

Opeth are Swedish Metal Gods!

Okay, so yeah, Opeth is my favorite metal band.  Gojira, a French Metal Band, is pretty darn good too.  The Devin Townsend Project, not much exposure to them.  No idea who Dylan Schneider is, except the name that ruined a perfectly good picture.

This past weekend I took my older kids to see Opeth with me.  I am one of those top-notch parents that exposed his children to metal at an early age, thus allowing them to form an appreciation for the greatest form of music…Metal.

Actually, my older kids really do like Opeth. So it worked out.  It was my son’s birthday too, so that made it even more fun.

The Devin Townsend Project was interesting.  Devin Townsend sort of schmoozed around the stage.  He was a bit weird, but the music was good.  I knew of him, as I’m a metal head, but never listened to him.  I will give him a listen in the future.

Gojira was amazing.  If you’ve never listened, you should.  They have a very distinctive sound, and that sound shook every joint in my body.  The drums were powerful, and I liked it.  Brilliant visual show too.

Opeth was Opeth.  How can you go wrong?  They played a good mix of old and new, including the original version of Demon of the Fall.  The last time I saw them they played this song, but sang it with all ‘clean’ vocals.  This time, they sang it as it was originally recorded, growls and all.  Demon of the Fall may just be my all-time favorite Heavy Metal Song.  They also had an amazing visual show, but I’d still give a slight nod to Gojira in this category.

All in all, I’d give this show a 4.75 of 5, just because I’m picky and there was this really annoying woman that screamed “In My Hour Of Need” during every in-between time until they played it.

Devin Townsend satisfied the crowds need to have fun.

Gorjira satisfied the crowds need to be violent.

Opeth satisfied the crowds need to be reflective and enjoy a very diverse musical sound.

IMAG0356    IMAG0371

IMAG0386

IMAG0399

IMAG0422.jpg

*Sorry, the camera on my phone sucks.

