So, if you’ve been paying attention, you’d know I recently took a new job.

To accomplish this, I now need to commute each week to a new state, going back to visit the family on the weekends.  It’s about a 5 hour drive. Pretty darn boring.

So I had this idea, why not try an audio book?  So I went to the library before I headed to the job destination this past Sunday and grabbed a book by Terry Goodkind (The Law of Nines).  One of my favorite authors, and a book I haven’t had a chance to read yet.

You know what?  It’s not bad. I thought I wouldn’t like being read to, or it would be distracting, but it’s not.  I can focus on the road and it’s like someone in the car is telling me a story.

The unfortunate side of this?  The story, as read, is something like 12 hours, so I’m a little less than half-way through, and I don’t have the book to keep going.  So I either ‘listen-read’ going back and forth to work each day, or I wait until I head back home on Friday.  Either way, it’s way better than I was expecting.

I like audio books.  Imagine that!

