51xbq8HiZkL._SY346_

Description:

Turning twenty-seven may be terrifying for some, but for Alex, a struggling artist living in the Midwest, it is cataclysmic. Something about this birthday, his name, and the beautiful woman whose life he has just saved has suddenly made him-and everyone he loves-a target. A target for extreme and uncompromising violence…

Review:

I had originally started this book a few years ago, as I own the hard cover book, but it didn’t ‘trip my trigger’ at the time. That is not an indication of the quality of the work, only that I wasn’t mentally in the mood for it at the time.

I recently decided to try an audio book, and I gave this one a try.  As my first audio book, I had no idea what to expect.  Well, I was pleasantly surprised.  The author is a very talented wordsmith, as I expected.  I’m a big fan of Goodkind.  The reader was very talented as well.

The story is about a man named Alex and he meets a mystery woman as they are about to be run over by a service truck.  And that’s about all I will give you as a spoiler.  It’s at that point where I stopped originally, when I started to read it. Just wasn’t in the mood.  But, I am very glad I gave it another try.  I was in the mood for what the book delivered this time.  And, if you are a fan of Goodkinds other works (The Sword of Truth series), then you will be VERY interested in this book.  Okay…maybe that was a bit of a spoiler too.

Anyway, great characters. Great story-line. Great everything.  Just what I’ve come to expect from Terry Goodkind.

4.5 of 5 Stars (rounds to 5)

