I’m not great at it, but it calms me when I’m working on a project.  I’ve been dabbling with woodworking for a dozen years or more; construction-type woodworking for a couple dozen years.  My equipment isn’t great, and I have very little time, but it’s still fun.

Anyway, I have always wanted to make a treasure chest, so I did.

IMG_0005

This is made from scrap wood.  The top and sides are all 1/4″ strips cut from old 2×4’s.  The inside and bottom are 1/4″ and 1/2″ (respectively) plywood I have no idea where I picked up.  I hate to see good wood in the trash.  The only thing I bought was the hinges, hasp, chain and handles (which you can’t see).  All total, this cost me about $15 to make.

IMG_0011

I cut 1″x 1″ supports and created a rough frame.  I used 3/8″ dowels (also scrap) cut into pegs to connect the pieces with wood glue.  The chest is 24″ wide, 12″ high without the lid and about 14″ deep…I think.  I don’t remember the dimensions at this time.  I used a very large compass to draw a circle on cardboard, and then cut it out.  I lined it up with the top of the box to get the “right” angle for the lid and then used that as a pattern for the plywood supports.  Brad nails hold the slats to the frame and lid supports.

Sand smooth (yes, it’s smooth, but the marks in the re-purposed wood give it the character), stain and then clear coat.  One application of stain, three applications of clear coat with a light sanding between.  Final sanding is done with a plain piece of white paper.

Add hardware, and BOOM! Treasure Chest!

Don’t waste wood, use it!

